Vinyl Double Album


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : PEL158
Product type : Vinyl Double Album
Release Date : 29 January 2021



The Rifts is the 3rd album of Swedish duo A Swarm of the Sun and was originally released in 2015. The Rifts is sombre and brooding, heavy and melancholic, crushing and fragile in equal measure: a bleak and beautiful journey through the battered inner landscapes of the heart and soul: a dolorous tale of lost hopes, dreams falling apart, final moments of clarity and redemption... and appositely reflecting the current state of the world 5, years after its release – isolation. The Rifts is the sonic manifestation of a heavy black cloud of abstract yet overwhelming feelings, thoughts, hopes and fears-- a collection of intimate reflections on a very specific, profound and personal struggle which needs to stay somewhat untouchable and diffuse, as further verbal explanations would be divesting this immense work of art of its sheer and raw emotional impact. What initially was a handful of piano sketches, nine song titles, a few lines of lyrics and a notebook full of script-like visual references slowly evolved into something much more dense and layered. Karl Daniel Lidén (The Old Wind, ex- Terra Tenebrosa) was added to the lineup on drums, and he also recorded the album. The sessions culminated with the recording of the pipe organ. The result is absolutely massive, overwhelming, cinematic and pummeling; a sinister foreboding of the emotional truths at the core of this tremendous album. A Swarm Of the Sun is Erik Nilsson and Jakob Berglund. In 2007 the debut EP The King of Everything was released, followed by the critically acclaimed full-length album Zenith in 2010. The Rifts was written and produced by the band and recorded by Erik Nilsson, drums performed and recorded by Karl Daniel Lidén at Studio Gröndahl, mixed and mastered by Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna, Refused, Pg.lost). Further contributing musicians are Anders Carlström (The Isolation Process) on bass, Anna Carlsson on vocals, Minna Heimo on pipe organ and Robin Bergh (Aoria) on vibraphone. All artwork and videos directed and produced by the band's own Jakob. Why are we releasing this, 5 years later? Because everyone here at Pelagic agrees that in the nebulous world of post-metal, The Rifts is one of the 5 best albums ever made. We're honored to add this masterpiece to our catalogue.
1. There's Blood On Your Hands
2. Infants
3. The Nurse
4. Incarceration
5. The Warden
6. Years
7. The Rifts
8. These Depths Were Always Meant For Both Of Us
9. All The Love And Glory
Item successfully added to your basket