Vinyl LP


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : M0741
Product type : Vinyl LP
Release Date : 25 June 2021



After returning with a vengeance on their blistering 2018 comeback album “A Gift For The Obsessed,” the Florida melodic death metal quartet THE ABSENCE build on that album's momentum on their fifth full-length, “Coffinized.” 

THE ABSENCE first burst onto the scene in 2005 with their crushing, Erik Rutan-produced Metal Blade debut, “From Your Grave.” The album and its two follow-ups, 2007’s “Riders of the Plague” and 2010’s “Enemy Unbound,” showcased a perfect mixture of heart-wrenching melodies and skull-pounding aggression, truly making them one of the premiere bands of the melodic death metal scene. THE ABSENCE further cemented their reputation via numerous tours supporting some of the biggest names in metal, including Cannibal Corpse, The Black Dahlia Murder, Amon Amarth, Sabaton, Goatwhore, Evergrey, Malevolent Creation, Kataklysm and Destruction.

Following a lengthy hiatus, the band regrouped in 2016 with a new lineup uniting founding members Jamie Stewart (vocals) and Jeramie Kling (drums) with longtime bassist Mike Leon and guitarist Taylor Nordberg. Their well-received 2018 release “A Gift For The Obsessed” was supported by tours with the likes of Deicide, Origin, Jungle Rot, Exmortus, and Hatchet. Band members also stayed busy with other outside endeavors, with drummer Kling manning the kit for Venom Inc., bassist Leon gigging with Soulfly and Cavalera Conspiracy, and guitarist Nordberg playing with Massacre. Those three band members took the experiences from those touring gigs and reconvened in the studio with Stewart in 2020 to put together the 11 tracks of pummeling death metal that compose “Coffinized.”

“Coffinized” was produced and engineered by Kling and Nordberg and mixed by Kling. The album was mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (Immortal, Scar Symmetry, Hypocrisy) at Sweden’s Black Lounge Studios.

For fans of: The Black Dahlia Murder, At The Gates, The Haunted, Revocation

1. Coffinized
2. Future Terminal
3. Choirs of Sickness
4. Radiant Devastation
5. Cathedral Dawn
6. Black Providence
7. Discordia
8. Treacherous
9. This Consuming Nocturne
10. Aperture Expands
11. Faith in Uncreation
Item successfully added to your basket