Compact Disc Book


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock – Dispatch Immediately
Item no. : PRO299
Product type : Compact Disc Book
Release Date : 17 September 2021



ARCTURUS have continuously spearheaded the metal avant-garde of their Norwegian homeland and far beyond until this day, ever since the band emerged from the bubbling cauldron of Oslo's creatively bursting, fast rising underground black metal scene with the two-track 7" "My Angel" in 1991.
With then-guitarist and formidable keyboard player Sverd taking the helm and forming the act's core together with MAYHEM drum-beast Hellhammer, ARCTURUS released a string of classic albums that were recorded with the notable inclusion of ULVER frontman Kristoffer "Garm" Rygg until 2003. The band's early material including all recordings with Garm are finally being released as lavish limited collectors' editions under the title "Stars and Oblivion – The Complete Works 1991 – 2002" containing a wealth of rare and previously  unreleased bonus materials!

Now "Stars and Oblivion – The Complete Works 1991 – 2002" constitutes the definite collection of ARCTURUS classic early releases that created the foundation of this legendary Norwegian avant-garde metal band and that have stood the test of time.

Available as luxurious limited edition complete box set consisting of audiophile black vinyl editions of 6 vinyl albums and a 7-CD, 72-page hardcover artbook with a large ARCTURUS cloth flag and a limited edition patch.
The vinyl albums include all four legendary albums of the "Garm-period": "Aspera Hiems Symfonia", "La Masquerade", "Disguised Masters", and "The Sham Mirrors" as well as another album that combines both early EPs "Constellation/My Angel" with the addition of 2 "My Angel" rehearsal tracks. The extra sixth vinyl album, entitled "X-Tapes" is a very special collection of ultra-rare and previously unreleased material from ARCTURUS' personal archives including private cassettes of rehearsals, drunken jams, and even two live tracks from 1995.

All of the albums are also part of the artbook in CD format which features a seventh CD, containing synthesizer compositions from ARCTURUS mastermind Steinar "Sverd" Johnsen.

What sets these luxurious editions audibly apart from previous reissues is the careful remastering of all material by long-standing guitarist Knut Magne Valle that diligently maintains the original spirit but enhances the sound to contemporary standards.

To do these musical masterpieces justice, renowned Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu created a fresh cover art for the boxes and the artbook. Additional artbook pages graphic design, enhanced original artworks commissioned by the band and for the bonus materials by Lukasz Jaszak. The 72-page hardcover artbook features an in-depth essay by music journalist Jeff Wagner, celebrated author of the book "Mean Deviation: Four Decades of Progressive Heavy Metal".

Constellation/My Angel
1. Raudt Og Svart
2. Icebound Streams And Vapours Grey
3. Naar Kulda Tar (Frostnettenes Prolog)
4. Du Nordavind
5. My Angel
6. Morax
7. Morax Anno 1996 EV.
8. Outro (Radiant Star Befallen)
Aspera Hiems Symfonia
1. To Thou Who Dwellest In The Night
2. Wintry Grey
3. Whence & Whither Goest The Wind
4. Raudt Og Svart
5. The Bodkin & The Quietus (...To Reach The Stars)
6. Du Nordavind
7. Fall Of Man
8. Naar Kulda Tar
La Masquerade Infernale
1. Master Of Disguise
2. Ad Astra
3. The Chaos Path
4. La Masquerade Infernale
5. Alone
6. The Throne Of Tragedy
7. Painting My Horror
8. Of Nails And Sinners
Disguised Masters
1. White Tie Black Noise (designed by When)
2. Deception Genesis
3. Du Nordavind (1998 re-recording)
4. Alone (Intellecto / Valle Darktrip)
5. The Throne Of Tragedy (Phantom FX Jungle Remix)
6. La Masquerade Infernale (Valle / Hellhammer Reconstruction)
7. Master Of Disguise (Phantom FX Remix w/ Gangstafications by S.C.N.)
8. Painting My Horror (G. Wolf Levitation Mix)
9. Ad Astra (The Magenta Experience)
10. Ad Astra (Ensemble Version)
The Sham Mirrors
1. Kinetic
2. Nightmare Heaven
3. Ad Absurdum
4. Collapse Generation
5. Star-Crossed
6. Radical Cut
7. For To End Yet Again
1. Icebound Streams And Vapours Grey (Early rehearsal Version With Marius Vold on vocals, 1992)
2. The Bodkin (Early rehearsal version with Marius Vold on vocals, 1992)
3. Whence And Whither (Unreleased, live in Gjerstad, 1995)
4. The Bodkin (Unreleased, live 1995)
5. Intoxicated Jam (1997 Rehearsal)
6. The Throne of Tragedy (Unreleased raw instrumental, 1996)
7. The Chaos Path (With Simen Hestnæs on vocals, 1996)
8. Halvtonemarsjen (Unreleased instrumental, 1997)
9. The Deep Is The Skies (Originally recorded in 1997)
10. Cosmojam (Instrumental, originally recorded in 1997)
Sverd Solo Compositions
1. I
2. II
3. III
4. IV
5. V
6. VI
7. VII
Item successfully added to your basket