Music > CD > CDs > CHELSEA


Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : WW0023CD
Artist : CHELSEA
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 04 May 2015



In August 1976 that Gene October placed an advert in Melody Maker which led to replies from guitarist William Broad, bassist Tony James and drummer John Towe. On October 18th they made their live debut as Chelsea at London's ICA. The band split in November 1976 where Gene briefly recruited guitarist Marty Stacey & bassist Bob Jessie. The other three former members formed Generation X.
In early 1977 Gene put together a new line up consisting of guitarist James Stevenson, bassist Henry Daze and drummer Carey Fortune and recorded the band's first single's, the punk classic Right To Work and High Rise Living.

1982 saw continuous gigging and the infamous 'So What Tour' with Anti Nowhere League, also the release of the third Chelsea album 'Evacuate' which gained substantial critical acclaim in the music press.
After 1984 this version of Chelsea came to a close and Gene put together various line ups, releasing the albums Original Sinners, Rocks Off and Underwraps which never really lived up to the recordings the band made between 1977 -1984. German punk supergroup; Die Toten Hosen, covered Chelsea's electrifying debut 45 The Right To Work which went platinum.

Bassist Tony Barber, borrowed from the Buzzcocks, stood in as bass player for tours of Germany, France, Czech republic & UK appearances and in 2005 Chelsea released a new album; ' Faster, Cheaper And Better Looking'.  Stevenson joined  'The Alarm' and also plays with 'The Cult' although he continues playing in Chelsea.

October 2011 saw the return of Mat Sargent & Nic Austin to the Chelsea fold after 18 years joining Gene October & James Stevenson, Lee Morrell completing the line-up on drums.
This current line up of Chelsea have mostly been playing festivals over the past few years and toured the UK in 2014.  The release of the 10th Chelsea studio album 'Saturday Night Sunday Morning' in April 2015 brings new interesting writing collaborations spanning musicians throughout Chelsea's 40 history.   Chelsea tour the UK in 2015 promoting the new album also 'The singles album' which has just been released on collectors white vinyl, and a brand new studio album set for release later this year on  the bands new label Westworld recordings.


01. It's About Time
02. Back On The Crazy Train
03. We Don't Believe You
04. They Don't Care What You Want
05. Something Wrong In Your Head
06. Fuck All
07. You've Gotta Survive
08. Johnny Has No Respect
09. You Never Ever Listen
10. Promises
11. Saturday Night Sunday Morning
12. Someone Like You
13. Talk About It
Item successfully added to your basket