Compact Disc Double


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : 309490
Product type : Compact Disc Double
Release Date : 29 August 2011



To live in Cleveland, Ohio, more of a sunken hole than a driven notch in the Midwest rustbelt, is to not only encounter, but embrace the crippling winters, the broken jawed economy, and the expectations of defeat. All of which culminate in the very specific attitude of not only being an asshole, but being an asshole and an underdog. None of this is lost on Chimaira. Now, after over 12 years of defining what Cleveland metal and brutal music should sound like, Chimaira advances their trademark brand of heavy with their latest monster, “The Age of Hell.” As with most Chimaira records—and everything Cleveland—, the composition of the record was fraught with adversity. Longtime drummer, Andols Herrick, bass player Jim Lamarca, and electronic knob twister, Chris Spicuzza, had fallen away from the band, leaving Chimaira’s flagship member and singer, Mark Hunter, and guitarists Rob Arnold and Matt Devries with an album to record for their debut on SPV/Longbranch with no rhythm section or effects specialist. The splintered Chimaira could have stared at the sun, dissecting separate fires then converging into a singular sphere of blinding defeat. Most bands would. But most bands aren’t from Cleveland. And only one band is Chimaira. Instead, Hunter, Arnold, and Devries pushed themselves into frequent collaborator, Ben Schigel’s Spider Studios with bloodied teeth and balled fists, hell bent on birthing what anyone else would have aborted. The eponymous opening track summons the ferocity of a band hungry and disgusted. Mark Hunter’s guttural barks declare a twisted war, while the guitars shift from ravenous chugging to soaring leads. “Clockwork,” a song that refuses to grow stale after countless plays, provides a chorus that sees the band tastefully using layers of clean vocals, while not sacrificing Chimaira’s severity, a theme throughout the album. Tracks like “Losing My Mind” and “Time is Running Out” lyrically reflect the tribulations of a group under the gun, and both include the band’s signature groove that is utterly crushing. But it’s songs like “Trigger Finger,” “Born in Blood,” and “Scapegoat” that will leave janitor’s mopping up blood from venue floors across the world. Throughout the record, the sonic layers are far from trite ear candy, giving an oceanic depth to each track. Solos and leads by Arnold confirm his status as the next shredder to beat. And the drumming. Schigel goes from syncopated to bar room brawler and back again with no regrets for the jaws he dropped along the way. And now the eclipse of what you thought you knew about contemporary metal has begun. There is a new definition announced by distorted, yet familiar faces. Chimaira will take you through “The Age of Hell.” Let’s hope you are prepared.

1. The Age Of Hell 3:32
2. Clockwork 3:43
3. Losing My Mind 4:57
4. Time Is Running Out 4:13
5. Year Of The Snake 3:41
6. Beyond The Grave 4:54
7. Born In Blood 4:08
8. Stoma 1:28
9. Powerless 4:31
10. Trigger Finger 3:54
11. Scapegoat 4:32
12. Samsara 6:12
13. Scum Of The Earth 5:03
14. Your Days Are Numbered 3:02
15. Wild Thing 2:29
Bonus DVD “The Age Of Hell” interview - approx. 51 min

Item successfully added to your basket