Compact Disc - 4 CD Box Set


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

Out Of Stock - currently unavailable
Item no. : MRC014
Release Date : 01 July 2022



MelodicRock Classics is honoured to announce the details for what will be one of the crown jewels of the label’s catalogue for years to come. Most fans of melodic rock will know the name Clif Magness. The American singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist/producer is a stalwart of the wider music business for over 40 years. And while is name will be very familiar, the depth of his songwriting talents may not be as well known. In rock circles he has two acclaimed solo albums plus a member of Planet 3, co-writes with Steve Perry and is best known for co-writing and producing several tracks on Avril Lavigne’s 2002 debut album, Let Go including the song "Losing Grip". Further writing credits include Laura Branigan, Ted Nugent, John Farnham, Cheap Trick, Starship, Eric Martin, Robin Beck, Marc Jordan, Spin Gallery and Ignition. In pop circles he worked with original American Idol winner Kelly Clarkson on her debut album Thankful and the follow-up Breakaway. Magness produced the longest radio air played song in Australian history, "Perfect", for Vanessa Amorosi; produced five songs for another American Idol contestant, Clay Aiken, on his debut album, Measure of a Man and co-wrote the first single "Lights Out" and five other songs with Lisa Marie Presley from her debut album, To Whom It May Concern. At the 33rd Grammy Awards, Magness won a Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocal(s) for the song "The Places You Find Love" from Quincy Jones' album, Back On The Block. He received nominations for an Academy Award, Golden Globe Award, and Grammy for the theme song "The Day I Fall In Love" from the film Beethoven's 2nd. In 1990, Magness' collaboration with songwriter Steve Kipner resulted in a Billboard top 5 single for Wilson Phillips' "Impulsive". Early in his career, Magness co-wrote and produced the title track "All I Need" on Jack Wagner's debut album. He has also either co-written and/or produced tracks for Celine Dion, Jessica Simpson, Amy Grant, Hanson, O-Town, Charlotte Martin, Rachel Loy, Wild Orchid, Judith Owen, Jude, Joe Bonamassa, The Urge, Kyle Vincent, Marie Digby, Andreya Triana, Days Difference, Ill Scarlett, Ivy Lies, Christina Grimmie, Caroline Sunshine, Jermaine Jackson, Barbra Streisand, Julio Iglesias, Sheena Easton, George Benson, and Al Jarreau. The time has come to showcase Clif Magness’ songwriting career, by opening his demo vaults to fans for the first time. ‘Road To Gold’ is the unleashing of 40 years of writing, covering different styles, eras and purposes, all with Magness’ own brand of melodic brilliance on display. Given the brief to ‘look through everything’, Clif, together with A&R guru Magnus Soderqvist and MelodicRock Classics CEO Andrew McNeice, found 60 tracks, which are compiled over 4CDs in chronological order. To make this package a truly special tribute to a great writing talent, Clif has been working on detailed song credits and liner notes to explain each song on the compilation.

Disc 1: 1979-1983
1. Slip Away
2. The Rest Of The Night
3. Reach For Me
4. Do You Ever Think Of Me
5. Look What You've Done
6. Make Me Believe It
7. What Goes Around
8. Let 'Em Talk
9. Late Night News
10. Chain Reaction
11. Workin' It Back
12. When Will I See You Again
13. Tell Him
14. I Know What You Know

Disc 2: 1984-1987
1. Top Of The Hill
2. Kia Manni Kai
3. Hold On
4. Lisa, It Still Matters
5. Hold On To Me
6. Runnin' Forever
7. Black And White
8. Over Tokyo
9. The Other Side Of Love
10. Saving Grace
11. The Children
12. If I Had My Way
13. Livin' In A Gorgeous Hell
14. Shake Off The Rain
15. Steam

Disc 3: 1998-1995
1. Livin' By The Letter
2. Halfway To Heaven
3. As Good As It Gets
4. Cry
5. Yeah Yeah Yeah
6. Love With A View
7. Look The Other Way
8. I Will Survive
9. I Think My Heart Is Ready
10. Johnny B Bad
11. Nueromancer
12. Collection Of Hearts
12. You Love Who You Love
13. The Boy Delirious
14. I Know I want Your Love
15. Down
16. Feel

Disc 4: 1996-2018
1. Forget That Girl
2. Her New Day
3. In The New World
4. Katies Suicide
5. Livin' The Dream
6. What You Want
7. I've Fallen Into You
8. Running Away
9. Craving
10. Different Today
11. Those Were The Days
12. Will you Wait
13. Me Just Being Me
14. Crave The Touch
15. Let Me Let Go
16. (She Said) Just Kiss Me

Item successfully added to your basket