Music > Vinyl > 12" LP > COIL > BACKWARDS


Vinyl Double Album


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

Out Of Stock - currently unavailable
Item no. : CSR203LP
Artist : COIL
Product type : Vinyl Double Album
Release Date : 13 November 2015



After the ground-breaking release of 1990's "Love's Secret Domain" album, Coil were not dormant; the main project was "Backwards", which was started in 1992, updated considerably between 1993 and 1995, and transferred in 1996 to New Orleans, where it was finished in the magic of the Nothing studios of Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails). The album saw the fruition of Jhonn Balance's recent vocal coaching, producing haunting, passionate vocals, while reaching new heights.

23 years after its initiation, these tracks have been beautifully preserved by Danny Hyde and are finally available in highest quality audio. Differing substantially from the later, remixed incarnation, "The New Backwards" (2008), "Backwards" contains the original versions of Coil's much-loved tracks; 'A Cold Cell' and 'Fire Of The Mind', which have appeared on various compilations over the years, and are now presented as originally intended.

This album is the essential bridge between "LSD" and the later "Musik To Play In The Dark" series. It is an essential conduit, to understand the journey that was taken. It was to be released.. it should have been released... but because of issues with grey men it wasn't. It is now, so enjoy. (Danny Hyde).

1. Intro
2. Backwards
3. Amber Rain
4. Fire Of The Green Dragon
5. Be Careful What You Wish For
6. Nature Is A Language
7. Heaven's Blade
8. CopaCaballa
9. Paint Me As A Dead Soul
10. AYOR (It's In My Blood)
11. A Cold Cell
12. Fire Of The Mind

A1. Intro
A2. Backwards
A3. Amber Rain
A4. Fire Of The Green Dragon
B1. Be Careful What You Wish For
B2. Nature Is A Language
B3. Heaven's Blade
C1. CopaCaballa
C2. Paint Me As A Dead Soul
C3. AYOR (It's In My Blood)
D1. A Cold Cell
D2. Fire Of The Mind

Item successfully added to your basket