Music > CD > CDs > DAVID BOWIE


Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : YS027
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 03 May 2024



Earthling, the 21st studio album by David Bowie, was released 3 February 1997 through RCA Records in the United Kingdom, Virgin Records in the United States, and Arista / BMG in other territories. Mostly self-produced by Bowie, it was primarily recorded from August to October 1996 at New York City's Looking Glass Studios. Bowie composed the tracks with Reeves Gabrels and Mark Plati, who are credited as co-producers, with Mike Garson, Gail Ann Dorsey and Zack Alford providing overdubs later. 
Developing musical styles previously explored on 1995’s Outside, which had reunited Bowie with Brian Eno, Earthling showcases an electronica-influenced sound partly inspired by the industrial and drum & bass culture of the 1990s, further exhibiting jungle and techno styles. Lyrically, the tracks express themes of alienation and spirituality. One of them, "I'm Afraid of Americans", was remixed for release as a single by Nine Inch Nails' Trent Reznor, who appeared in its music video. The artwork depicts Bowie wearing a Union Jack coat co-designed by Alexander McQueen. 
The Earthling Tour started on 7 June 1997 at Flughafen Blankensee in Lübeck, Germany, continuing through Europe and North America before reaching a conclusion in Buenos Aires, on 7 November ‘97. The 14 October show at the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York - broadcast on MTV – was added at short notice due to A cancellation by The Rolling Stones.
This concert however turned out to be one of the finest of the entire tour, and despite its limited duration (to fit in with the slot designated), remains one of Bowie fans’ best loved of the ‘97 jaunt.
Previously unreleased, the entire gig is now available on this new CD release with bonus cuts from Paris in 1995, plus live TV appearances from ’97. 
1 The Supermen  4:20
2 Panic In Detroit  4:12
3 The Voyeur Of Utter Destruction (As Beauty)  6:29
4 Quicksand  4:46
5 Jean Genie  5:07
6 I’m Afraid Of Americans  5:09
7 Look Back In Anger  4:45
8 Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)  5:25
9 Little Wonder  6:06
10 Fame  4:21
11 Hallo Spaceboy  5:30
12 All The Young Dudes  3:47
13 The Man Who Sold The World  3:41
14 Dead Man Walking (Acoustic)  4:43
15 I Can’t Read (Acoustic)  5:10
16 Repetition  2:58  


Item successfully added to your basket