Music > Vinyl > 12" LP > HATCHET


Vinyl LP


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : M1131
Artist : HATCHET
Product type : Vinyl LP
Release Date : 09 September 2022



M-Theory Audio will be reissuing “Awaiting Evil,” the 2008 debut album from Bay Area modern thrashers HATCHET, on colored vinyl. The upcoming release will mark the first-time appearance of the record on vinyl. The album, which was originally released by Metal Blade Records, received praise upon its release for its “catchy galloping style” from The Metal Crypt. Then-HATCHET vocalist Marcus Kirchen was applauded by Sputnik Music for delivering his performance with “a fast and furious vocal style that fits this type of music perfectly,” and guitarist Julz Ramos was praised by Blabbermouth for his “seriously shredding leads.”

HATCHET was formed in 2006 by teenagers that shared a mutual love for the bands that built their hometown Bay Area metal scene two decades prior. Bands such as Testament, Exodus, and the early work of then-Bay Area transplants Metallica infused the initial blueprint that informed HATCHET's sound. The band however forged their own path thanks to layering in guitar melodies that were inspired by other classic heavy metal acts such as Iron Maiden and adding an additional layer of technicality to stand out from the competitive pack of modern bands seeking inspiration from the greats of thrash metal's yesteryear. Three demos and a couple compilation appearances garnered the attention of Metal Blade Records, who put the band in Grizzly Studios with Roger Tschann (Saviours, Tiger Army, Tsunami Bomb) to record the young thrashers debut. The same Sputnik Music review that praised Kirchen's vocal performance also noted that HATCHET “don't really sound like a rip-off of their influences but rather they are just five dudes rocking out and putting everything into their music.”

The months that followed the initial May 2008 release of “Awaiting Evil” saw HATCHET take their sound to the live stage alongside NWOBHM legends Raven, Southern California thrash icons Hirax, and fellow modern thrashers such as Warbringer and Havok. The years since have seen Ramos step behind the microphone while continuing his duties as lead guitarist, and the release of three more albums – 2013's “Dawn of the End,” 2015's “Fear Beyond Lunacy,” and 2018's “Dying to Exist.” The group has also cemented their status as a live powerhouse, touring alongside acts such as Trivium, Soilwork, Jeff Loomis, Flotsam and Jetsam, Metal Church, Misfits’ Doyle, Kataklysm, Krisiun and Exmortus.

1. Darkening Skies
2. Frailty of the Flesh
3. Sealed Fate
4. Frozen Hell
5. Attack Imminent
6. The Morlocks Tomb
7. Storm the Gates
8. The Dead Will March
9. Awaiting Evil
Item successfully added to your basket