Music > CD > IN VAIN


Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : INDIE102CD
Artist : IN VAIN
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 18 March 2013



In Vain released two EPs before being signed by Indie Recordings in 2005.
When their debut album was released in 2007, the metal world didn't know what hit them.
“The Latter Rain” was a huge project involving close to 20 guest musicians and several guest vocalists such as legendary Jan K. Transeth (ex. In the Woods...) and Kjetil Nordhus (Tristania, ex.Green Carnation, ex.Trail of Tears).
A united metal press praised the album, and it was described as an instant classic.
After joining forces with Battered and label mates Vreid for a European tour, and several other live appearances such as the Inferno festival, and by:larm, the band went back to the drawing board and started to work on a new album.
With the release of "Mantra" in 2010, In Vain took the leap up amongst the heavyweights of the genre.
Although the band kept the same vibe as on the two previous recordings the music was taken a step further, in every direction.
Mantra proved that the band is in it for the long haul.
“This highly agile and expansive “Mantra” should be on your 'best of 2010' list if you are a metal fan with a shred of openness to a few things non-metallic.” -
In 2013 In Vain are ready for their 3rd attack of progressive extreme metal.
In March 2013 they will release their most versatile and extreme work to date – “Aenigma”.

The album has been mixed and produced by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Soilwork, Borknagar, etc).
The album contains 8 songs of In Vain’s unique trademarked sound.
As usual, In Vain has brought some guests along, and “Aenigma” sees excellent appearances by Lazare and Cornelius from Solefald.
Additionally, guest musicians have added strings, horns and other instruments. 
As usual, In Vain’s songs cover a wide range of musical styles, with the core of the music still based in their extreme metal realm.
However, the band believes they offer more focused songs this time around.  All the songs on the album are strong and stand on their own, which are reflected in the lyrics which are equally independent of each other, dealing with everything from personal issues, nature, philosophical reflections around mankind and in what direction the world is heading.

In support of the release In Vain will embark on a European tour with Solefald and Vreid from the 4th to the 17th of April.
The band will also do several gigs and festivals, so be sure to catch them live in 2013!

1. Against the Grain
2. Image of Time
3. Southern Shores
4. Hymne til Havet
5. Culmination of the Enigma
6. Times of Yore
7. Rise Against
8. To the Core
9. Floating on the Murmuring Tide

Item successfully added to your basket