Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : TLNCD3072
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 20 October 2023



This concert documents the second of Janis Joplin's three working groups. The Kozmic Blues Band were modelled on Otis Redding's Stax-Volt R&B sound with arrangements that were designed to showcase her magnificent voice. Her greatest numbers, Summertime, Try (Just A Little Bit Harder), Ball And Chain, Piece Of My Heart are all present and the performances clearly demonstrate that like her heroines Bessie Smith and Mahalia Jackson, Joplin had a very rare gift. 

Performed in Amsterdam, Netherlands on April 1st 1969 and broadcast on VPRO radio.  

Janis Joplin - vocals; Sam Andrew - guitar; Brad Campbell - bass; Richard Kermode - organ; Terry Hensley - trumpet; Terry Clements - tenor sax; Roy Markowitz - drums; Cornelius 'Snooky' Flowers - baritone sax.
1. Instrumental
2. Maybe
3. Summertime
4. Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)
5. Can't Turn You Loose
6. Combination Of The Two
7. Ball And Chain
8. Piece Of My Heart
Item successfully added to your basket