Compact Disc Double


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock – Dispatch Immediately
Item no. : RADCD1
Product type : Compact Disc Double
Release Date : 10 May 2019



Umbrella Music is releasing the first complete collection of existing BBC recordings made by the original Manfred Mann lineup with vocalist Paul Jones between 1964 and 1966. “Radio Days – The Paul Jones Era,” available on two LPs or two CDs, documents the band’s string of hits from “Sha La La” to “Pretty Flamingo.” Manfred Mann (keyboards), Paul Jones (vocals/harmonica), Mike Hugg (drums/vibes), Tom McGuinness (guitar/bass) and Mike Vickers (bass/sax) join legendary BBC presenter Brian Matthew through the rapidly changing music styles and environment of the mid-‘60s. The sessions also featuring another legend, bassist Jack Bruce, who was previously with The Graham Bond Organisation and John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers. After his stint with Manfred Mann, Bruce would go on to form Cream with Eric Clapton and Ginger Baker. His presence in the group is highlighted on “Long Hair, Unsquare Dude Called Jack” never before officially available. “Radio Days” also includes group and individual interviews. Compiled from BBC recordings featured on the programmes “Saturday Swings,” “Saturday Club,” “Top Gear,” Swing Into Summer” and “Pop Inn,” this “Radio Days” collection is a fascinating look into how one of the UK’s most respected ‘60s bands promoted their current and upcoming releases and cultivated their fan base. Manfred Mann achieved this by performing new studio versions of their HMV label output along with some unique, BBC-only performances.
Disc 1:
1. Groovin' (#1)
2 Band Interview
3. Watermelon Man (#1)
4. Sha La La (#1)
5. Band Interview
6. I Need You
7. Come Tomorrow (#1)
8. Look Away    
9. L.S.D.
10. Manfred Mann & Tom McGuinness Interview
11. Oh No Not My Baby (#1)
12. That's The Way I Feel
13. The Abominable Snowmann
14. Manfred Mann & Paul Jones Interview/ Paul Jones Interview
15. The One In The Middle
16. Parchman Farm (Paul Jones solo)
17. What Am I To Do
18. I Put A Spell On You
19. Manfred Mann Interview
20. If You Gotta Go, Go Now
21. Watch Your Step
Disc 2:
1. It Took A Little While
2. Manfred Mann Interview
3. There's No Living Without Your Loving
4. Spirit Feel
5. Tired Of Trying, Bored With Lying, Scared Of Dying (Unedited)
6. When Will I Be Loved (#1)
7. Still I'm Sad
8. Manfred Mann Interview
9. Pretty Flamingo
10. Machines
11. Long Hair, Unsquare Dude Called Jack
12. Paul Jones Interview
13. You Better Be Sure         
14. Sha La La (#2)
15. Mike Vickers Interview
16. Come Tomorrow (#2)
17. Groovin' (#2)
18. Watermelon Man (#2)
19. Oh No Not My Baby (#2)
20. When Will I Be Loved (#2)
Item successfully added to your basket