Compact Disc Mini


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : SC211CD
Product type : Compact Disc Mini
Release Date : 24 October 2011



In 1979 a dark formation occurred, a black ripple that would soon become a wave: one which made a huge impact on the metal world. Taking the name of Mantas, the legendary guitarist Jeff Dunn formed an outfit that rivalled the stage shows of bands such as Kiss and challenged the occult themes that Black Sabbath had pioneered. He took the knife edge that had made Judas Priest dangerous and the volume that had made Motorhead so intense, and rolled it into a big, black dirtball called Venom. With renewed hunger and inspiration, Mantas joined up with the Demolition Man, bassist/vocalist Tony Dolan, in 1988. The duo penned Prime Evil, an album hailed as a return to form with its cleaner sound and the mighty vocal attack of Dolan. After Demolition Man’s exit in 1992, drummer Antton (Antony Lant) took up the sticks for the powerful Resurrection album, after which Mantas departed from Venom. The trio decided that they needed to produce something befitting of their musical prowess. The band’s die-hard fans were left to chose a name for the new group, as it was they who had pushed for the new group to form. Naturally, in hindsight, Prime Evil was the name they chose – and so the band were free to make the music that they had always wanted to make, without pretending that it was 1982 all over again. After announcing themselves to the world the band were asked to reconsider the chosen name out of respect for another act who had named themselves after the self same Venom album title. Without hesitation and with understanding and the respect to be expected by this honorable trio, they changed their name… and so to the future… Mpire Of Evil's debut mini-album, 'Creatures Of The Black', will be released October 25th 2011 on Scarlet Records. The CD will feature cover versions of four songs that influenced the members of the band ('Exciter' by Judas Priest, 'God Of Thunder' by Kiss, 'Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be' by AC/DC and 'Motörhead' by Motörhead) plus two brand new original tracks, 'Creatures Of The Black' and 'Reptile'. A full-length effort will follow sometime in early 2012, with a full tour planned for the same year. This is MPIRE of EVIL. This is Mantas, Antton and the Demolition Man. This is 2011.
1. Exciter
2. Motorhead
3. Reptile
4. God Of Thunder
5. Hell Aint A Bad Place To Be
6. Creatures Of The Black
Item successfully added to your basket