Music > CD > CDs > NINA SIMONE

LIVE 1965 - 1969

Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : TLNCD3075
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 15 December 2023



Nina Simone's enduring status amongst contemporary musicians speaks to her musicality but also to her single-mindedness, her unique vision, the artistic integrity and power she brought to her lengthy career. The performances captured here show her approaching the peak of her powers. First in the Netherlands with her 1965 ensemble featuring Rudy Stevenson on guitar and flute and then in Chicago in 1969 with the same group that she took to the Harlem Cultural Festival, recently celebrated in the Summer Of Soul documentary. Performed live in the Netherlands (1965) and Chicago (1969).  

Mickery Theatre, Loenersloot, Netherlands, December 25th 1965, VPRO/VARA: Nina Simone - piano, vocals; Rudy Stevenson - guitar, flute; Lisle Atkinson - bass; Bobby Hamilton - drums. 

Orchestra Hall, Chicago, 1969, WPIX-FM: Nina Simone - piano, vocals; Weldon J. Irvine - organ; Al Shackman - guitar; Gene A. Perla - bass; Don Alias - drums; Jumma Santos - congas.
Mickery Theatre, Loenersloot, Netherlands, December 25th 1965:
1. Brown Baby
2. Four Women
3. The Ballad Of Hollis Brown
4. Tomorrow Is My Turn
5. Images
6. Go Limp
7. Mississippi Goddam
Orchestra Hall, Chicago, 1969:
8. Go To Hell
9. Ain't Got No (I Got Life)
10. Backlash Blues
11. I Put A Spell On You
12. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
13. Why? (The King Of Love Is Dead)
14. Mississippi Goddam
Item successfully added to your basket