Music > CD > CDs > RIOT

ARCHIVES VOLUME 1: 1976-1981 (+DVD)

Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

Out Of Stock - currently unavailable
Item no. : HRR553CD
Artist : RIOT
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 05 October 2018



It’s almost impossible to overestimate the importance of Riot for the evolution of American heavy metal. The New Yorkers built the bridge between the first generation of hard rock and metal bands springing up in the early to mid-1970s (Blue Öyster Cult, Kiss and Van Halen) and the new wave carrying the torch in the late 1970s and early 1980s (led by Canadian proto speed metal merchants Anvil and Exciter).

Formed in New York City in 1975, Riot recorded one of the best heavy metal albums of all time: 1981’s »Fire Down Under«. However, before this landmark album finally saw the light of day, it took Riot six long years and two studio albums (1977’s »Rock City« and »Narita« from 1979) to get the formula right.
Although the main protagonists of Riot are no longer with us, singer Guy Speranza died on November 8th 2003 and main man Mark Reale, guitarist and principal songwriter, sadly passed away on January 25th 2012, it’s second guitarist L.A. Kouvaris who is an important first-hand witness.

On the Riot »Archives Vol.1« album there are no less than 18 unreleased tracks on there (including different mixes). Some of the studio/demo tracks like “Sweet Sweet Felicia”, “In Every Way”, “Come Back To Me”, “I’m A Marshall”, “Teaser” and “Loving Comes Easy” have never before seen the light of day.

1. Lovin‘ Comes Easy (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
2. Sweet Sweet Felicia (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
3. Come Back To Me (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
4. In Every Way (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
5. I‘m A Marshall (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
6. Teaser (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
7. I Don‘t Love You Anymore (Reale Speranza Feit Demo)
8. Back On The Non-Stop (Rough Mix)
9. Waiting For The Taking (Rough Mix)
10. 49er (Rough Mix)
11. Kick Down The Wall (Rough Mix)
12. Narita (Rough Mix)
13. Here We Come Again (Rough Mix)
14. White Rock (Rough Mix)
15. Back On The Non-Stop (Rough Mix, Different Mix)
16. Struck By Lightning
17. One Step Closer
18. Outlaw (Remixed + Edited Version)

Bonus DVD: Live in New Jersey 1981

1. Swords And Tequilla
2. Altar Of The King
3. No Lies
4. Fire Down Under
5. Rock City/Tokyo Rose/Rock City
6. Don‘t Bring Me Down
7. Kick Down The Wall
8. Don‘t Hold
9. Mark Reale- Guitar Solo
10. Outlaw
11. Road Racin
12. Warrior

Item successfully added to your basket