Music > CD > CDs > VARMIA > BAL LADA


Compact Disc Digi


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : M0812
Artist : VARMIA
Product type : Compact Disc Digi
Release Date : 12 March 2021



“bal Lada” is the third album from Polish pagan black metal group VARMIA - who pay tribute to their Baltic roots by combining black metal sounds with traditional instruments such as the goat horn and the tagelharpa – and their first for M-Theory Audio. VARMIA was formed in 2016 by vocalist/guitarist/composer Lasota with a mission of fusing black metal with musical influences that pay tribute to the ancient Baltic tribes of the historical Warmia region of northern Poland. On vocal duties, Lasota emits harsh growls that shroud the band's music and native Polish lyrics in a visceral aura, the only breaks from this vocal assault occurring when he sings using the traditional, ancient technique of “whitevoice” clean singing as utilized during ancient East-Central European rituals, rites of passage and festivals. Meanwhile, the power of the band's modern influences are enhanced on “bal Lada” by bassist Ćwiara and drummer Emil, while traditional ethnic instrumentation of the Baltic Rites is executed by percussionist Piotr via tagelharpa, goat horn, wood tuba and krivula. The final result is a compelling mix of dark metallic sounds that channel the spirit of early Enslaved, Satyricon, Primordial and Wolves in the Throne Room and folk elements that drive acts such as Wardruna and Heilung. VARMIA has released two albums to date – 2017's “Z mar twych” and 2018's “W ciele nie”. The group records all of their music in culturally significant remote locations throughout their native Poland, and “bal Lada” continues that practice, as the 11 tracks of ominous and atmospheric pagan black metal contained within were recorded in a makeshift studio set up by the band in an old 19th-century manor in Northern Poland, where they recorded while playing together as a live unit with no sound editing. With the forthcoming release of “bal Lada,” M-Theory Audio is set to spread the band's native sounds to a worldwide audience.
1. woanie
2. bielmo
3. ruja
4. Upperan
5. nazachód
6. Zari Deiwas
7. O
8. głody
9. ten blask co po nim śmierć
10. koniec
Item successfully added to your basket