Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock – Dispatch Immediately
Item no. : VP410CD
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 07 August 2015



The Yardbirds remain one of the truly legendary and influential bands of the sixties. Responsible for hit records such as Still I’m Sad, Shapes Of Things, Heart full Of Soul and For Your Love not to mention the classic albums Five Live Yardbirds and Roger The Engineer the band is also remembered for the three guitarists who graced the band between the years 1963 and 1968. Eric Clapton followed by Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page all recorded and performed their guitar magic with this band. Founded in Surrey in 1963 by Paul Samwell-Smith,Chris Dreja, Keith Relf, Jim McCarty and Anthony ”Top” Topham the band soon moved beyond their early primitive efforts and Topham was replaced by Eric Clapton Shortly after the band replaced the Rolling Stones at the famous R’n’B club the Crawdaddy Club. The band became the backing band for man visiting blues musicians including Sonny Boy Williamson with whom they cut their first record. The best representation of the band at this period was the live album Five Live Yardbirds released in 1964. Despite the bands love of R’n’B however they were pressured into a more pop direction which horrified the purist Clapton. Shortly after recording the bands first hit single For Your Love in 1965 Clapton left the band to be replaced by Jeff Beck the second in the triumvirate of great guitarists to play for the band. Jeff Beck was to stay with the band for less than two years but in that time he established the reputation on which he continues to build today and almost single handed changed the way guitar led rock music was viewed. Jimmy Page the third of the famous guitarists to grace the Yardbirds entered the picture when Samwell-Smith left the band and initially joined as the bands bassist however he soon swapped duties with Chris Dreja and for a short while formed a twin guitar line up with Jeff Beck. When Beck left in 1967 Page became the bands lone guitarist and was to remain so until the band folded in 1968. Despite the regard in which the band was held commercial success eluded them and in 1968 the band split leaving Jimmy Page with the name and the legend. Page decided to carry on as The New Yardbirds and he duly formed a band around himself which shortly after changed name to become Led Zeppelin! This album features music from the various musicians and related musicians who played with The Yardbirds over the years and includes performances from the following artists Jim McCarty Band, Yardbirds Experience, British Invasion All-Stars, Pete French, The Ambulators with Dave Walker.

1. Shapes of Things - The British Invasion All-Stars
2. Mona - The British Invasion All Stars
3. Gimme Some Lovin - The British Invasion All Stars
4. Shakin All Over - The British Invasion All Stars
5. Green Onions - The British Invasion All Stars
6. I'm A Man - The British Invasion All Stars
7. Wang Dang Doodle - The Ambulators feat Pete French
8. Sitting On Top of the World - The Ambulators feat Pete French
9. Outside Woman Blues - Jim McCarty Band
10. How Many More Times - Jim McCarty Band
11. Framed - Jim McCarty Band
12. I Go Crazy - Jim McCarty Band
13. How Blue - Jim McCarty Band
14. Don't Start Me Talkin - The Ambulators feat Dave Walker
15. 9 Below Zero - The Ambulators feat Dave Walker
16. Bring It On Home - The Ambulators feat Dave Walker
17. Keep It To Yourself - The Ambulators feat Dave Walker
18. Help Me - The Ambulators feat Dave Walker
19. Jimi Hendrix Trilogy - The Yardbirds Experience
Item successfully added to your basket