Compact Disc Digi


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : M1302
Product type : Compact Disc Digi
Release Date : 03 March 2023



Finnish metal quartet BLACK ROYAL – whose blend of lurching sludge and groove-laden death metal is inflected with lyrics inspired by Scandinavian and Sami mythology – have signed with M-Theory Audio. The group's third full-length album “Earthbound” is set for release October 21, 2022.
BLACK ROYAL formed in Tampere, Finland in 2013, and unleashed two self-released EP's – 2015's “The Summoning Pt. 1” and 2016's “The Summoning Pt. 2” before signing with Swedish-based Suicide Records for the release of their 2018 debut full-length, “Lightbringer.” The latter slab of sludge-infused death metal made waves within their homeland's metal scene by making Inferno Magazine's Top 10 Albums of 2018 list. The album was praised by Angry Metal Guy for its “giant riffs and primal groove” and applauded by Metal Temple for its “refined arrangements and impactful atmosphere.” The group also made its presence felt on the live stage after the release of “Lightbringer,” culminating in a performance at Tuska Open Air 2018.
BLACK ROYAL's second album “Firebride” was released in February 2020. The effort saw the group continue to build upon the momentum of their previous effort and refine their varied influences into a more cohesive display of suffocating death metal, hypnotic sludge, and catchy rock hooks. MetalSucks asserted that BLACK ROYAL crafted “some pretty gnarly sludge ‘n’ roll” and No Clean Singing noted that “for all its buzz-saw riffery and doomy delirium, 'Firebride' [was] all about the hooks.” Ghost Cult Magazine cited vocalist Riku‘s “harsh bark” and Jukka‘s “mammoth drums” while also giving plaudits to a sound that was “given touches of both tradition and imagination by [guitarist] Toni’s leadplay” and bass notes from Pete that resembled “a jet taking off.”
BLACK ROYAL entered Studio Watercastle in August 2021 to begin laying down the tracks that would become their third full-length album – and M-Theory Audio debut - “Earthbound.” Produced and mixed by Oskari Hakala-Rahko (Lordi, Blind Guardian) and mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde (Convulse, Oranssi Pazuzu), the record is set to be the group's heaviest mix of sludgy riffs and death metal power yet.
1. Earthbound
2. Ghosts of the Dead
3. Conjuration
4. Law of Nature
5. 13th Moon
6. Phoenix Ascending
7. Bleed Your Soul
8. Queen of the Underworld
9. Bear Cult
10. Barren Land
11. Rite of Passage
Item successfully added to your basket