Music > CD > CDs > GENESIS


Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : ZCCD117
Artist : GENESIS
Product type : Compact Disc
Label : ZIP CITY
Release Date : 22 October 2021



In November 1980, Genesis bought Fisher Lane Farm, a farmhouse with an adjoining cowshed near Chiddingfold, Surrey, as their new rehearsal and recording facility. The building was remodelled into a studio in four months before recording for Abacab began in March 1981. The new environment had a productive effect on the writing process as the band wrote enough for a double album, but they discarded one hour's worth of songs that sounded too similar to their past albums. Banks said a conscious effort was made to keep melodies as simple as possible which signalled further changes in their direction. The shift was underlined in its production when Hentschel, their producer and engineer since 1975, was replaced by Hugh Padgham after Collins liked his production on Face Value and Gabriel's third solo album. Production duties were solely credited to the band for the first time with Padgham as their engineer. The album is formed of group written material with an individual song from each member. ‘No Reply at All’ features the Phenix Horns, the horn section of American funk band Earth, Wind & Fire.
1 Behind The Lines  5:45
2 Duchess  6:31
3 Dodo/Lurker  7:32
4 Abacab  8:46
5 Me And Sarah Jane  5:57
6 Misunderstanding  3:58
7 No Reply At All  4:53
8 Firth Of Fifth  8:50
9 Man On The Corner  4:01
10 In The Cage/Cinema Show/Slipperman  11:53
11 Afterglow  5:01
12 Dance On A Volcano  4:37
13 Drum Duel  3:16
Item successfully added to your basket