Music > CD > CDs > OCEAN, THE


Compact Disc


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : 398414899CDJ
Artist : OCEAN, THE
Product type : Compact Disc
Release Date : 07 January 2013



The thinking man’s metal band THE OCEAN is back with its new masterstroke; “Heliocentric”.

Heliocentric is just the first episode of two successive concept albums, the second being titled “Anthropocentric”.

The concept at the base of both albums is a critique of Christianity from different philosophical and personal perspectives. The songs, art and lyrics of the “Heliocentric” album tell the story of the rise of the heliocentric world view - the idea that the earth revolves around the sun, and that the sun is stationary and at the centre of the universe, an idea controversially proposed by Copernicus in the 16th Century.

As we have come to expect, the Berlin collective has worked obsessively in order to make this album perfect in every aspect, from the cover to the music, from the lyrics to the packaging.

Musically, 'Heliocentric' covers the largest range of dynamics and styles to date, from calm, soulful songs based on piano and vocals to moments of eclectic heaviness. The unique voice of new vocalist Loic Rossetti has immensely widened the musical realm of the band and opened up an entirely new sphere of possibilities. "Heliocentric" continues where the "Proterozoic" half of the "Precambrian"-album left off, with dense, epic songs and big orchestrations.

1. Shamayim
2. Firmament
3. The 1st Commandment Of The Luminaries
4. Ptolemy Was Wrong
5. Metaphysics Of The Hangman
6. Catharsis Of A Heretic
7. Swallowed by the Earth
8. Epiphany
9. The Origin Of Species
10. The Origin Of God
Item successfully added to your basket